Is it OK for teachers to share their political opinions?

A very interesting debate!

Learn Be Teach Do

BBC Referendum ballot image with question mark

I found myself challenged today when I heard that a concerned parent had claimed that I had told my class how I will vote in the Independence Referendum next year. There must have been a breakdown in communication somewhere, especially since I don’t even know how I will vote yet!

And the irony of the timing of this concern was not lost on me.  Just last week (to the day) I gave an input at a whole staff meeting about the importance of enabling our pupils to make up their own minds and that staff should not be guilty of leading students based on their own personal opinions and that we have a duty to ensure that opinions being shared are well-informed.  Additionally, I had submitted a Press Release to Holyrood magazine on the efforts we are taking at the school to provide fair and balanced argument for both sides…

View original post 422 more words

Leave a Reply

